Rolling over the Curb

So I am just finishing up the 60th day straight I have worked without a day off at this new car sales job.

After reading the first 90 days. I am pretty sure I need to keep working another 30 days but now I get one day off every two weeks to regain energy, and I know why.

The Slump. If you completely immerse yourself in something for 8 hours a day for 30 days, you start to notice how much better or easier that thing has become. By day 45 you almost start to feel that you are the best that there is. At this point you will begin to think that you are in fact so naturally talented that you can begin to alter the process. Then you get into a slump.

So here at day 6, I find myself on the end of a 4 day slump where I have only sold two cars, one was to a situation where there was no way they were getting financed but sometimes they work miracles happen so it was at least worth putting into the hopper. The other, a sale that seemed to just go way too easy, and would probably turn into a crazy lady the next day demanding her money. Like a girl angry after a one night stand.

Its taken me those 4 days to figure whats going on, its a slump, where you lose your groove, and suddenly begin to get frustrated and confused, even impatient and resentful.

I hit that wall today, I found myself trying to skip through the emotional process for people to buy a car. Its a loss of respect for them. Which is when all of a sudden you lose what makes you genuine, and try to make up for it by just essentially “Telling them” what to think, and not helping them begin to feel comfortable to make their own decisions, and to help facilitate their choice.

If that seems a little convoluted…

“It’s like walking up to a girl and saying;
‘Hey uhhhh… I know that I’m good looking enough for you, wanna just skip this whole courtship process and go bang right now. My place?’

IT WOULDN’T WORK!

Yes, of course I am sure some of the time it works, but as far as closing ratio goes, you can’t bet on that. You have to give them the emotional experience they expect. If you alter that process, you will stray. If you lose respect for their own needs for a comfortable rate to trust someone, they will very rarely buy.

I had that happen to a guy today, who wanted a lifted truck, and I totally just tried skipping the process basically just trying to close them on the parking lot, in essence skipping steps and having it cost me the proper rapport needed to sell.

This is where the saying “back to the basics” comes from. You have to go back to respecting the process and trusting yourself to know the right points to transition from step to step seamlessly, so that you never seem threatening and always make them feel comfortable. That is what makes it so you have a high percentage closing rate in this business, its an utmost adherence to a process and becoming very good at repeating it without the emotional temptation to skip steps affecting you. That is just as much a skill as knowing product knowledge. The better you can get at that, the better you can get at sales. When you are new, and struggling with the process, it’s closing that you are uncomfortable with. Once you figure that out, and have the process figured out, it is staying emotionally and intellectually aware of the need for people to naturally develop trust and rapport to keep yourself in line.

By month three I hope to be learning what a top level sales person is struggling with.

 

Tell me what you Think!

